1/22/17

I feel the blow of each syllable as it slips past the guard of lips that have been silent for months,

All I can see are colors and flashes of things I should have noticed before,

Your eyes are full of beautiful melted vacancy and your face parallels the distance you feel from this conversation,

Your skin is bruised from all the fights you have had to go through in life,

your scars show all the battles you have fought so hard to get through,

some you won and others you did not,

but it doesn’t matter now with the armor you grew,

I want to reach out to you and hug you in a blanket of apology and comfort,

but you tell me I have burned that blanket long ago and each word meant to help only burns deeper into the skin,

I should have known,

You should have let me know,

Please stop being your own body guard.

Leave a Reply

